What "Free" Actually Means: Invoice Generator Limits Compared (2026)
"Free invoice generator" is used to describe a lot of different things. Some tools really are free and unmetered. Others cap how many documents you may create, ask for an email address before they hand over the file, add their own branding to the output, or reserve the word "free" for a trial. This page does not rank anyone — it simply quotes what each vendor says on its own pages, links the page the quote came from, and lets you read it yourself.
Method. Every cell below is either a verbatim quote from the vendor's own page or a plain description of what that page does, and every row links its source. All third-party pages were first retrieved on and re-checked on ; where a quote changed, the row now shows the current wording. One observation could not be repeated on the re-check and keeps its first date: the Invoice-Generator.com output we examined for a watermark. Pricing pages, plan limits, and download flows change without notice, so treat this as a dated snapshot, not a live feed. If something here is out of date or reads unfairly, tell us and we will re-check the source and correct it. The standard on this page: every third-party claim is either a dated, source-linked quote from the vendor's own page or a described click-path you can walk yourself — and our own row is held to the same standard, stated limits included. The same discipline we use for our rate datasets applies here — see how we verify.
The comparison table
Read the middle column as the vendor's own words. Where a quote describes a paid plan, the cell says so — that is the point of the row, not an oversight.
| Tool | What you get without paying — in their own words | Gate / branding | Currencies | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyInvoiceTemplate | Free with no plan tiers: invoices, quotes, and credit notes with a PDF at the end of every one. Fair-use anti-abuse cap: 20 PDFs per device per day (200 per IP) — stated here so our own row meets the standard we hold everyone else to. This is our own site, so it is a description of our behavior rather than a quote (full list: /facts/). | No account, no email address. A one-line "Created free with myinvoicetemplate.com" credit is switched on by default and one free checkbox in the settings turns it off. Blank template files download directly. | 8 presets (USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, CAD, AUD, CHF, TRY) or a custom symbol; one currency per invoice. | myinvoicetemplate.com/facts/ | Our own site |
| Invoice-Generator.com | The generator's FAQ answer: “Create and download invoice PDFs for free with no signup required.” We found no watermark on its output (observed 2026-08-19). The developer API is capped separately: “The free API plan has a limit of 100 invoices per month.” | None found on the generator itself; the API requires a free account. | “Edit labels, add your logo, change currency, and adjust line items before downloading the PDF.” | Generator · API docs | |
| Invoice Simple | No free tier is listed on their pricing page — a 14-day trial only. The cheapest paid tier, Essentials, is “Up to 3 invoices per month”; Plus is “Up to 10 invoices per month”; Premium is “UNLIMITED invoices per month”. | Subscription. For unlimited volume, “you will need a subscription to our Premium package”. | Not stated on the pages we checked | Pricing · Essentials · Plus · Premium · Unlimited | |
| Zoho Invoice (free tools) | The free generator's invoice ends with the line “Crafted with ease using” followed by the Zoho Invoice logo, and “Visit zoho.com/invoice to create truly professional invoices.” The template gallery routes to sign-up: “Sign up for Zoho Invoice to start sending invoices for free or customize our free invoice templates to match your brand.” | Vendor line on the generated document; template gallery routes to sign-up. | Not stated on the pages we checked | Generator · Templates | |
| Wave | The FAQ describes an email step: “Simply enter your email address after completing the steps to generate an invoice and you'll receive a PDF version of the invoice that can be sent to your customer. You can also download the PDF copy of your invoice to be printed out and mailed to customers.” | Email address step described in the FAQ; the same answer also mentions downloading the PDF copy. | Not stated on the pages we checked | waveapps.com/tools/invoice-generator (FAQ) | |
| Bookipi | The app's free plan lists “Invoice: Up to 3 per month”, with the footnote “Includes quotations, credit notes, estimates, and others. Resets every 30 days.” Separately, their template files are direct downloads with no form in front of them. | Monthly volume cap inside the app; no gate on the template files. | Not stated on the pages we checked | Pricing · Templates (observed) | |
| InvoiceHome | The free plan's ceiling is stated in money: “Invoice up to $1,000 for the past 30 days”. Unlimited is listed at “$5 / month”. | Value-based cap (the wording reads to us as a trailing 30-day window); plan chosen on the sign-up page. | Not stated on the pages we checked | invoicehome.com/signup | |
| Refrens | An annual document allowance: “You can generate 15 documents every year.” Documents created on the free allowance “will carry a small, non-intrusive Refrens branding.” | 15 documents per year, plus vendor branding on the output. The lowest paid plan on its pricing page is ₹5,900 (“Effective: ₹ 492 / month”). | “Refrens supports 150+ currencies and 175+ countries.” | Generator · Premium | |
| InvoiceBerry (templates) | The template hub states “all our templates are free” and “no sign-up or installation needed”. | At the download step we reached a First name / Last name / Email form. | Not stated on the pages we checked | Hub · Download step | |
| Wise (templates) | The US Excel template sits behind a form (first name, last name, business email, business name and role are among its fields): “To receive the download link on your email, please enter your email address.” The German-language equivalent links the .xlsx files directly, with no form. | US page: email form, and “When you enter your email, you’ll also be signed up to receive the Wise Business newsletter”. German page: no form. | Not stated for the templates (the pages advertise Wise's own multi-currency accounts) | US (form) · DE (direct) | |
| HubSpot (templates) | The invoice template generator states the trade plainly: “Once you’ve entered your contact information, you can instantly download this template”. | Contact information required before download. | Not stated on the pages we checked | hubspot.com/invoice-template-generator | |
| Template.net (templates) | On the paid-tier item we checked, the download door reads “Subscribe to download”. The free online editor we checked says “Edit Online & Download free” and “No sign up needed”, and describes the download as “a printable PDF”. | Subscription on that item; the free editor's page names PDF as its download. | Not stated on the pages we checked | Paid item · Free editor |
Quotes are reproduced as written. Where a vendor's wording and the behavior we observed differ, both are stated in the same row rather than one being resolved into the other.
Vendor by vendor
Invoice-Generator.com
This one deserves to be said plainly: the web generator is genuinely free. Its own FAQ says so: “Create and download invoice PDFs for free with no signup required.”, and on we found no watermark on the document it produced (the generator itself — the watermark point is an observed behavior, not a quote). The stated limit sits on the developer API rather than the web generator: a free account is required there, and “The free API plan has a limit of 100 invoices per month.” (source, retrieved ).
Invoice Simple
Invoice Simple is worth understanding precisely, because the numbers people quote about it are paid-plan numbers. Their pricing page lists no free tier — a 14-day trial only (pricing page). The cheapest paid tier, Essentials, is documented as “Up to 3 invoices per month” (source); Plus is “Up to 10 invoices per month” (source); Premium is “UNLIMITED invoices per month” (source). Their own help center states the route to unlimited volume: “you will need a subscription to our Premium package” (source). All re-checked .
Zoho Invoice (free tools)
Zoho's free invoice generator hands you a finished document, and the invoice it builds ends with the line “Crafted with ease using” followed by the Zoho Invoice logo, and “Visit zoho.com/invoice to create truly professional invoices.” (generator). The template gallery points you toward an account rather than a file: “Sign up for Zoho Invoice to start sending invoices for free or customize our free invoice templates to match your brand.” (source). Both re-checked . Scope note: this row covers Zoho's free generator and template pages only — we did not assess the plan tiers of the Zoho Invoice application itself for this comparison.
Wave
Wave's own FAQ describes an email step at the end of its free invoice generator: “Simply enter your email address after completing the steps to generate an invoice and you'll receive a PDF version of the invoice that can be sent to your customer.” The same answer continues: “You can also download the PDF copy of your invoice to be printed out and mailed to customers.” (source, re-checked ). Walk the flow yourself to see whether the email step or the download comes first for you today. Nothing is hidden about this — the FAQ says it in the words we are quoting.
Bookipi
Bookipi's app has a monthly volume ceiling on the free plan: “Invoice: Up to 3 per month”, and its footnote adds: “Includes quotations, credit notes, estimates, and others. Resets every 30 days.” (source, re-checked ). Their template files, though, are a genuinely ungated direct download — the page links the .docx and .xlsx files themselves, with no email form in between (their template hub, same date), and it says: “Every template comes in Word, Excel, Google Docs, Google Sheets and PDF”. That deserves credit, and it is a useful reminder that one company can gate its app and not gate its templates.
InvoiceHome
InvoiceHome states the free plan's ceiling in money: “Invoice up to $1,000 for the past 30 days”. Their sign-up page lists the unlimited plan at “$5 / month” (source, re-checked ). The wording reads to us as a trailing 30-day window. If your invoices are small the free plan may last a long time; a single larger invoice can exhaust the allowance.
Refrens
Refrens states its free allowance in a full year rather than a month: “You can generate 15 documents every year.” The same page is candid about the output, too — free documents “will carry a small, non-intrusive Refrens branding.” (source). The same page states: “Refrens supports 150+ currencies and 175+ countries.” The lowest paid plan on its pricing page is ₹5,900, shown as “Effective: ₹ 492 / month” (source). Both re-checked .
InvoiceBerry (templates)
InvoiceBerry's template hub says “all our templates are free” and “no sign-up or installation needed” (source). Following through to the download step, we reached a First name / Last name / Email form — verified on the Word invoice template (source) and on the credit-note equivalent (source). Both re-checked . We are reporting both observations side by side and leaving the reconciliation to the reader; download flows also differ by region and can change.
Wise (templates)
Wise is the clearest illustration on this page that "free" can depend on which version of a site you land on. The US Excel invoice template sits behind a form that asks for your name, business email address, business name and role, and the page says: “To receive the download link on your email, please enter your email address. When you enter your email, you’ll also be signed up to receive the Wise Business newsletter” (source). The German-language equivalent links the .xlsx files directly, with no form at all (source). Both re-checked ; we state both without assuming a reason for the difference.
HubSpot (templates)
HubSpot states the exchange before you start filling anything in: “Yep, completely free! Once you’ve entered your contact information, you can instantly download this template” (source, re-checked ). The template costs no money; it costs contact details, and the page says so before you start filling anything in.
Template.net (templates)
Template.net mixes free and subscription items in the same catalog, so the answer depends on which item you open. On the paid-tier invoice we checked, the download door reads “Subscribe to download” (source). The free online editor we checked says “Edit Online & Download free” and “No sign up needed”, and its steps describe the download as “a printable PDF” (source). Both re-checked ; other items in their catalog may behave differently.
How to choose a free invoice generator
There is no single best free invoice generator; there is the one whose limits you will not hit. Check these five things, each of which maps to a column in the table above. The page still ranks no one.
- Signup or email gate (Gate / branding column). Do you get the file directly, or only after an account, an email address or contact details? Wave's FAQ describes an email step, HubSpot asks for contact information, Wise's US page asks for an email address, and InvoiceBerry's download step showed a name and email form.
- Document cap (middle column). Is the free allowance counted per month, per year or in money? Bookipi, Refrens and InvoiceHome each state theirs differently, and Invoice Simple lists no free tier at all.
- Branding on the output (Gate / branding column). Zoho's generator adds “Crafted with ease using” and its logo; Refrens says free documents “will carry a small, non-intrusive Refrens branding.” Our own one-line credit is switched on by default and a free checkbox turns it off.
- File formats. Do you need a finished PDF, or an editable Word or Excel file you keep and reuse? Bookipi's template hub says “Every template comes in Word, Excel, Google Docs, Google Sheets and PDF”; our generator downloads a PDF, and our blank templates come as PDF and Word, some also as Excel.
- Currencies (Currencies column). Most pages we checked do not state which currencies the free tool supports. Invoice-Generator.com says you can “change currency”, and Refrens says it “supports 150+ currencies and 175+ countries.” Our generator offers 8 preset currencies or a custom symbol, one currency per invoice; for invoicing in a foreign currency, see the multi-currency invoice generator and our overview of multi-currency invoicing software.
For a small business: start with your volume
Turn the dated quotes into thresholds you can test against your own month:
- More than 3 invoices a month goes past Bookipi's free “Invoice: Up to 3 per month” (its footnote counts quotations, credit notes and estimates too).
- Refrens: “You can generate 15 documents every year.”
- InvoiceHome: “Invoice up to $1,000 for the past 30 days”, so one large invoice can use the allowance.
- Invoice Simple has no free tier; its cheapest paid plan, Essentials, is “Up to 3 invoices per month”.
- Ours: free and unmetered for normal use, with an anti-abuse cap of 20 PDFs per device per day (200 per IP).
Generator or invoicing software?
A generator makes the document; invoicing software usually also runs the billing. Our own tool is a generator, and it does not do the rest: it does not process payments (you print your own payment instructions, such as bank details or a payment link), it does not send invoices or reminders, it has no recurring invoices, and it keeps your draft only in this browser on this device. If you need those features, compare the vendors' own statements; for example, Invoice Simple's help center says that with its Premium subscription “you will also get access to popular features, such as: Client Signatures, Business Summary Reports, Premium Templates and more” (source, retrieved ).
Frequently asked questions
What is the best free invoice generator for a small business?
It depends on how many documents you send, whether you accept another company's branding on your invoices, and whether you mind giving an email address or contact details first; this page does not pick a winner. On the dated quotes above, Bookipi's free plan lists “Invoice: Up to 3 per month”, Refrens says “You can generate 15 documents every year.”, InvoiceHome's free plan is “Invoice up to $1,000 for the past 30 days”, and Invoice Simple lists no free tier. Our own generator is free and unmetered for normal use; an anti-abuse cap of 20 PDFs per device per day (200 per IP) applies, and a one-line credit is switched on by default with a free checkbox that turns it off. It does not send invoices, take payments or create recurring invoices, and it keeps your draft only in this browser. How to choose maps each point to the table.
How to check this yourself
Do not take our summary on trust — the whole point of quoting is that you can go and read the original. Three steps, none of which require an account:
- Click the source link in the row. Where a cell is a quote, the link goes to the page the quote came from — use your browser's find-in-page for the phrase. Where a cell describes behavior (a download flow, branding on a produced document), the link is the page to walk, not a page to search; those cells are labelled "observed".
- Walk the flow, don't just read the page. Several of the differences above only appear after you click "download" — the marketing page and the download step can say different things. Follow it to the file.
- Compare against the archived copy. If a page has changed since we retrieved it, paste the URL into the Internet Archive Wayback Machine and pick a snapshot near (or for the first check). That is how you can tell a mistake on our part from a change on theirs.
Disclosure: we are not a neutral party
We run a free invoice generator ourselves. That is a commercial interest in how this comparison reads, and you should weigh the page accordingly. Our defense against our own bias is the method: we quote vendors verbatim rather than characterizing them, we link every source so you can check the quote in context, we name the cases that cut against us — Invoice-Generator.com's generator is free with no signup, and Bookipi's template files are ungated — and we do not score, rank, or recommend anyone on this page. Where a vendor is charging money, that is a legitimate business model, not a failing; the only thing this page argues is that the word "free" should be checked before it is relied on.
Third-party plans, limits, and download flows can change at any time, and can differ by country or by individual item. Nothing here is a statement about any vendor's current terms beyond the dated snapshot recorded above.
Found something wrong or unfair?
We would rather be corrected than wrong — including by the vendors listed here. If a quote is out of date, taken out of context, or attributed to the wrong plan, contact us with the row and the current source URL. We re-check against the vendor's own page and update with a dated note, exactly as described in our data methodology.